01
Who are Planhat and Gainsight, and who owns them?
Gainsight is the incumbent. TechCrunch reported on 30 November 2020 that Vista Equity Partners acquired Gainsight, with unnamed sources putting the price at $1.1 billion. On 20 August 2025 Gainsight announced that Chuck Ganapathi, previously its President and COO, became Chief Executive Officer, and that founder Nick Mehta moved to Board Member and Special Advisor after 13 years as CEO. The same release framed the company around Atlas AI Agents, a CustomerOS platform and a Retention-as-a-Service model, with Renewal AI described as the first autonomous agent in the Atlas family and still in pilot with charter clients.
Gainsight bought Staircase AI on 8 August 2024, a Los Angeles and Tel Aviv company that analyses customer email, meetings and support channels for sentiment and risk. Financial terms were not disclosed. That matters for your budget later, because Gainsight's own documentation says a separate Staircase AI subscription is required.
Planhat is the challenger. It was founded in Stockholm in 2015 by Kaveh Rostampor and Niklas Skog, bootstrapped for seven years, and raised a $50 million Series A led by Sprints Capital in April 2022, its first outside money. At that point it said over 300 companies used the platform. In June 2024 it announced a platform upgrade, a new brand, and beta CRM and Professional Services products, so it now positions itself as a commercial platform rather than a pure CS tool. Its site footer reads Planhat Inc., and it says it is hiring for more than 100 roles in 2026.
We could not verify Planhat's current valuation or revenue from any primary source, so this article does not state them. Vitally and ChurnZero are the other common options, compared separately on this site.
02
How is each one priced in 2026?
Gainsight publishes packaging but not prices. Its Customer Success pricing page lists two tiers, both marked Request Pricing. Essentials includes 10 full users and 100 customers per user. Enterprise includes 20 full users and 200 customers per user. Both come with unlimited viewer licences, AI Insights and Automations. Essentials covers Customer 360, Playbooks and Success Plans, Dashboards, Health Scorecards, Surveys and Digital Journeys. Enterprise adds Company News, Renewal and Expansion Forecasting, and Organizational Mapping and Sponsor Tracking.
Two things sit outside those tiers. Gainsight's support documentation states that Journey Orchestrator, the automated email and programme engine, is available as a paid add-on to the Customer Success platform. And the Staircase AI overview says a separate Insight Agent (Staircase AI) subscription is required. So the AI-reads-your-inbox layer that Gainsight markets hardest is not in the base tier. Ask for the three numbers together.
Planhat publishes no tiers at all. Its pricing page says quote-based pricing with add-ons, shows one list headed Included in all plans (Open API, Native Integrations, Advanced automations, Audit Logs, Advanced Permissions, Email and Calendar, Planhat AIP), and lists four add-ons: Upgraded AI Platform, Advanced Service, Email Marketing and Advanced Portals. Services are a separate menu that includes managed services, onboarding and implementation, AI deployment and 24/5 support.
Planhat's seat model is worth understanding before the call. Its help centre explains that in October 2025 it introduced three user types: Core, Productivity and View. The number of each is set by your contract. View users have read-only access across Planhat, can still sync their email and calendar, and the article states it is free to have users of this type. Its older Service Seats were deprecated in July 2026; Core and Productivity users now get PSA and service features if the organisation has bought that access.
Neither vendor lists a dollar figure anywhere we could find, and third-party price estimates disagree with each other, so none appear here.
03
Which platform fits a 20 to 300 person SaaS company?
Gainsight Essentials exists for exactly this bracket. Ten full users is a CS team of six to eight plus an ops admin and a leader. The Gainsight product page says Essentials can be set up in as little as two weeks, a vendor claim, but the packaging itself is honest about who it is for.
Planhat's own site lists separate pages for Enterprise, Scale Ups and Start Ups, and its CS platform page leads with the AI-native customer success platform built to power enterprise post-sales teams. The unlimited free View users and the absence of a customer-count cap in anything we could find can make it cheaper per head for a team that wants sales and support looking at the same record. The cost is configuration. Planhat's pitch is one data model and a no-code automation editor with more than 100 templates; that flexibility is also the reason the question in the next section matters more for Planhat than for Gainsight.
A practical rule: if nobody on your team has run a CS platform before and you will not fund an ops hire, Gainsight's packaged tier is the lower-risk start. If you already have a RevOps or CS Ops person and you resent paying for a CRM, a CS tool and a PSA tool that do not share a record, Planhat is the one to demo first.
04
Feature by feature: what does each actually do?
Core workflow object. Planhat: a unified data model where health, adoption and custom metrics are stored as time series, with automations that trigger tasks, opportunities and emails off those series. Gainsight: the Call to Action (CTA). Each CTA is tied to a customer, can be created manually or by business rules, comes in five default types (Risk, Expansion, Lifecycle, Activity, Objective), and carries a Playbook, a predefined set of tasks with relative dates.
Health scoring. Planhat: time-series health built from product, CRM, ticket and conversation data in one model. Gainsight: Health Scorecards in the base tier, with Staircase AI adding sentiment and relationship signals from email and meetings as a separate subscription.
Automation and journeys. Planhat: no-code automation editor with 100 plus templates included in all plans, plus an Email Marketing add-on. Gainsight: Automations and Digital Journeys listed in Essentials; Journey Orchestrator for programme-based email and in-app sequences documented as a paid add-on.
AI. Planhat: Pi, which it calls the world's first multiplayer customer agent. Its CS page says your team sets the goals, defines the process and decides when to intervene, while agents monitor signals, trigger workflows, draft communications and escalate what needs human intervention. It also lists an AI Model Hub, an MCP server, and integrations with Anthropic, OpenAI, Azure OpenAI and Gemini; an October 2026 changelog entry adds admin control over what data Pi can access. Gainsight: Atlas AI Agents (Renewal AI in pilot), Staircase AI for conversation intelligence, an MCP Library, and a product page graphic showing Gemini, ChatGPT and Claude toggles.
CRM sync. Planhat: Salesforce sync configurable per object as both directions or one way; Planhat to Salesforce is near instant, Salesforce to Planhat runs up to every 10 minutes; the integration never deletes records; Cases flow one way into Planhat. HubSpot and Pipedrive are also listed. Gainsight: the HubSpot connector pulls Company, Contact, Deal, Owner, Product, Ticket, Email, Notes, Meeting, Calls, Task, Line Item, Feedback Submission and Custom Objects, and writes back via a Load to HubSpot action inside Rules; Salesforce, SAP Sales Cloud and Pipedrive are on its integrations page.
Jira. Planhat: Jira Core and Software issues sync bidirectionally and the integration can create issues in both Planhat and Jira, but only title, description, issue type and related companies go from Planhat to Jira; Service Desk issues flow one way into Planhat. Gainsight: the marketplace listing syncs Jira incidents and projects into Gainsight for reporting and health, supports Jira Cloud only, and does not describe writing back.
Support and product data. Planhat: Zendesk, Freshdesk, Help Scout, Intercom, Pendo, Mixpanel, Segment, Amplitude, Snowflake, BigQuery. Gainsight: Zendesk, Freshdesk, ServiceNow, Segment, Mixpanel, Google Analytics, Snowflake, BigQuery, Redshift, Postgres, Fivetran, Zuora.
Call recordings. Planhat: Gong, Fathom, Fireflies and Jiminny listed as native integrations. Gainsight: Gong listed; Staircase AI ingests meetings directly.
Customer-facing surfaces. Planhat: Portals (with an Advanced Portals add-on) and project and task management with timesheets, because it also sells PSA. Gainsight: Success Plans in the base tier, plus separately priced Customer Communities, Product Experience (in-app guides and analytics) and Skilljar for education.
Open API. Planhat: listed under included in all plans; a Developers page and an MCP server. Gainsight: API and developer documentation linked from its integrations page; MCP Library.
05
Where is my data hosted, and can I choose the region?
This is the question UK and EU buyers at your size should ask first, and the two vendors answer it differently.
Planhat's Security Statement, last updated 29 September 2026, says the service runs on Google Cloud Platform and that the customer may elect at the outset of the subscription period whether customer data at rest is hosted in the European Union or in the United States. Data at rest and backups stay in the elected region, though Planhat staff may access data from outside it to provide support. The same document states an ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified ISMS, a SOC 2 Type II examination, TLS 1.2 or higher in transit, AES-256 at rest, SAML 2.0 SSO, and role-based permissions down to individual fields.
Gainsight has run an EU data centre for Gainsight CS since 2019, according to its own blog, and in July 2025 opened an AI data centre in Germany to serve Staircase AI and Atlas in EMEA. Its January 2023 release notes describe three NXT data centres: EU, US1 and US2 (Oregon), and state that US customers cannot select their data centre; new US tenants are provisioned in US2. We could not find a current public page saying whether a non-US buyer can pick EU versus US, so put that in the RFP. Gainsight's security page lists SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001, HIPAA compliance and a Data Privacy Framework badge; the July 2025 release says Staircase AI holds ISO/IEC 27001 and ISO/IEC 42001.
In short: Planhat's region choice is written into a contractual security document. Gainsight has the infrastructure but the selection rules are less visible in public.
06
What does the AI actually do in each, in 2026?
Both vendors now say agents. Read the verbs.
Planhat's CS page describes agents that monitor signals, trigger workflows, draft communications and escalate what needs human intervention, with the team deciding when to intervene. Its features list includes AI Workflows, Conversational AI from every message, a Writing Assistant and an AI Model Hub for choosing the model. The Pi page itself names no underlying models and describes no explicit approval step, only that teams and agents work together to assign work, share context and make decisions.
Gainsight's Staircase AI page says it analyses every customer conversation to score churn risk, expansion readiness and stakeholder disengagement, posts Slack risk alerts, and turns signals into coordinated team action with assigned ownership and defined next steps. It also does not describe a sign-off step. Renewal AI, the autonomous Atlas agent, was in pilot as of August 2025. Gainsight also sells Atlas as a managed service where its agents and renewal experts run long-tail accounts for you.
The honest reading: Planhat's AI is more embedded in the workflow engine you already pay for, and lets you bring your own model. Gainsight's AI is stronger at reading unstructured conversation but is sold as a separate product line. Neither describes, on the pages we could find, an approval queue where a human reviews a drafted write to Jira, the CRM and the customer before it ships.
07
Which one is faster and cheaper to implement?
Gainsight's advantage is the volume of admin documentation and the number of people who have configured Cockpit, Rules Engine and Journey Orchestrator before. The product page's two-week setup claim for Essentials is the vendor's own; treat it as the floor, not the median. The things that take time are the same ones that take time anywhere: agreeing the health model, mapping CRM fields, and deciding which rules fire CTAs.
Planhat's implementation lives in its services menu: onboarding and implementation, technical deployment and an AI Deployment Programme, with managed services available if you do not want to own configuration. The platform page's own framing is customisable beyond belief, which is a strength for an ops-led team and a cost for a team without one.
Budget time for the integrations that write back, not the ones that read. On both platforms reading from Salesforce, HubSpot, Zendesk and product analytics is standard. Writing back is where the field mappings, the sync windows and the no-delete rules bite, and it is also where a CSM's promise either lands in the system of record or does not.
09
So which should a VP of Customer Success choose?
Choose Gainsight when you want a CS-only system with a known shape, your CRM is Salesforce or HubSpot and you want the deepest documented connector for it, your board will recognise the name, and you can accept that conversation AI and journeys are extra lines on the order form.
Choose Planhat when you want CS, sales and services on one record, when EU-or-US hosting must be a contract term, when free read-only seats for the rest of the company matter, and when you have an ops owner who will enjoy the automation editor.
Then ask both vendors the same three questions on the demo: show me the write-back to Jira with a custom field; show me what a human sees before an AI-drafted email leaves; show me the region selection screen. The answers will sort it faster than any feature grid.
Sources behind this piece
- 01Gainsight pricing page (Customer Success tiers)
- 02Gainsight Customer Success product page
- 03Gainsight press: Chuck Ganapathi named CEO (20 Aug 2025)
- 04TechCrunch: Vista acquires Gainsight for $1.1B (30 Nov 2020)
- 05Gainsight press: acquisition of Staircase AI (8 Aug 2024)
- 06Gainsight Staircase AI product page
- 07Gainsight docs: Staircase AI overview (separate subscription)
- 08Gainsight docs: CTAs, Tasks and Playbooks overview
- 09Gainsight docs: Journey Orchestrator overview (paid add-on)
- 10Gainsight docs: HubSpot Connector
- 11Gainsight marketplace: Jira integration
- 12Gainsight Customer Success integrations
- 13Gainsight blog: new data center in Europe (15 Jul 2025)
- 14Gainsight press: EU datacenter in Germany (15 Jul 2025)
- 15Gainsight NXT release notes 6.35 (Jan 2023): data centers
- 16Gainsight security page
- 17Planhat pricing page
- 18Planhat homepage
- 19Planhat Customer Success Platform page
- 20Planhat Pi page
- 21Planhat features and security overview
- 22Planhat Automations feature page
- 23Planhat changelog
- 24Planhat integrations
- 25Planhat Security Statement (29 Sep 2026)
- 26Planhat help: user types, seats, roles and users
- 27Planhat help: setting up the Salesforce integration
- 28Planhat help: setting up the Jira integration
- 29Planhat press: $50M Series A (21 Apr 2022, via Silicon Canals)
- 30Planhat press: Our Next Chapter (11 Jun 2024)
FAQ
Is Planhat cheaper than Gainsight?
Neither vendor publishes prices, so no public source can answer this reliably. Gainsight lists two Request Pricing tiers (Essentials with 10 full users and 100 customers per user, Enterprise with 20 and 200), with Journey Orchestrator and Staircase AI documented as separate purchases. Planhat is quote-based with four add-ons and free read-only View users. Get both quotes with the same user count, customer count, AI layer and email automation included, then compare.
Does Gainsight own Staircase AI, and is it included?
Yes, Gainsight announced the acquisition of Staircase AI on 8 August 2024. It is not included in the CS tiers: Gainsight's own support documentation states a separate Insight Agent (Staircase AI) subscription is required. It embeds its insights inside Gainsight C360 and P360 layouts once licensed.
Can I host Planhat or Gainsight data in the EU?
Planhat's Security Statement says customers elect EU or US hosting for data at rest at the start of the subscription, on Google Cloud Platform. Gainsight has operated an EU data centre for Gainsight CS since 2019 and opened a German AI data centre in July 2025, but its public release notes say US customers cannot select their data centre and do not spell out the rule for non-US buyers, so confirm it in writing.
Which one integrates better with Jira?
Planhat's Jira integration is bidirectional for Jira Core and Software projects and can create issues in Jira, though only title, description, issue type and related companies are written from Planhat. Gainsight's marketplace Jira integration syncs incidents and projects into Gainsight for reporting and health, supports Jira Cloud only, and does not describe writing back. Neither creates a fully populated ticket from a call commitment with human approval.
Who runs Gainsight now?
Chuck Ganapathi, formerly President and COO, became CEO on 20 August 2025 per Gainsight's press release. Founder Nick Mehta moved to Board Member and Special Advisor to the CEO. TechCrunch reported in November 2020 that Vista Equity Partners acquired the company, with unnamed sources putting the price at $1.1 billion.
Is Planhat only for enterprise?
Its CS platform page describes itself as built for enterprise post-sales teams, but its site also has dedicated pages for Scale Ups and Start Ups, and its seat model offers free View users. The realistic constraint for a 20 to 300 person company is not size but whether you have an ops owner to configure its automation editor.
Where does Mindlyft fit if I already use Planhat or Gainsight?
Mindlyft is not a customer success platform. It sits after the call, drafts the Jira ticket, CRM field changes and follow-up email that the call implied, and holds them in the A.S.T.R.A. review console until the CSM, SE or TAM approves, edits or rejects each one. The health scores, playbooks and renewal forecasting stay in Planhat or Gainsight; Mindlyft handles the execution of what was promised.
Want the GTM engineer without the headcount?
Start with a Free GTM Engineering Review: 30 minutes, a working session, not a sales call. You leave with the first systems we would build, in order, and a straight answer on whether it is worth doing now.
Get your free review